The Cross Keys Public House welcomes customers old and new!
We are the first pub, restaurant and carvery that combines excellent food and a warm family atmosphere.
We are passionate at The Cross Keys in providing outstanding customer service and a memorable food experience.
We truly believe we have something for every taste
from Friday night Fish and Chips to Sunday all day carvery!
We also have a mouth watering selection of pastas, pizzas
and homemade exquisite desserts. See our 2011
Christmas Menu - we think you will like it.
The Cross Keys also has a full pub games list, which
include darts and skittles teams. We are also very proud
to announce our very own football team!! There is a
television in every bar and sports channels are shown
including 'live' football.
Also on The Cross Keys site is Tre Fratelli Ristorante
for a unique eating experience. Carmine, Libby, their
three sons and a team of professional staff provide
an exemplary standard of quality and service.
OF THE CROSS KEYS
Licensing registers state that the Cross Keys
beerhouse was first licensed in 1836. It was
sold by William Boyce to the oddly-named West
Lilley in 1840, who mortgaged it to Ebenezer
Burr in 1859. The mortgage was redeemed in 1874
when Lilly sold the premises to Bedford brewer
Frederick Thomas Young. The Cross keys had been
leased to Kempston brewer Sir William Long and
his company, taken over by his son-in-law Robert
Newland on his death in 1846 was sold to Bedford
brewer Thomas Jarvis in 1873. Young, in partnership
with William Pritzler Newland, grandson of Robert,
also owned the Shoulder of Mutton in Green End
and the Smith's Arms in what is now Margetts
Road, in Up End. He mortgaged them to Charles
Mitchell in 1874 and to William George Carter
Mitchell in 1875.
Young must have sold out to
Newland in 1877 as in that year Newland mortgaged
various licensed properties including the Cross
Keys to Charles William Powell. He redeemed
the mortgage with Charles Mitchell in 1883 and
re-mortgaged with Henry Raynes and George Race,
that mortgage being transferred to Susan Milburn
Mitchell in 1889. In 1890 Newland merged his
business with that of Bedford brewer William
Joseph Nash's widow Susan to form Newland &
Nash, which became a public limited company
in 1897. Newland & Nash was taken over by
Biggleswade brewers Wells & Winch in 1924,
who were themselves taken over by Suffolk brewers
Greene King in 1961. The Cross Keys had become
a fully licensed public house just before this
on 10 Mar 1960.
In 1927 Bedfordshire was valued
under the Rating Valuation Act 1925; each piece
of land and building was valued to determine
the rates to be paid on it. The valuer at the
Cross Keys found a brick and slate building
with accommodation comprising a tap room ["fair"],
cellar, kitchen, living room and front room
downstairs with three bedrooms above; outside
were three small barns and an earth closet.
Overall he found a: "Nice little house
but trade poor". This weekly trade consisted
of 1½ barrels and 3½ dozen bottles
of beer - the problem was that there was: "No
one to Buy Beer". However, the establishment
survived and is still a public house but now
with a restaurant - Tre Fratelli Ristorante